Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

LATEST EPISODE

Meg Wolitzer & Jewell Parker Rhodes

The film version of Meg Wolitzer's novel THE WIFE, starring Glenn Close, is being released this Friday, so Megan and Clay are asking Wolitzer in this week's podcast about the adaptation. And beloved children's writer Jewell Parker Rhodes stops by the studio to talk about her tough but touching new novel, GHOST BOYS. And our editors reveal which new books are really worth your time!  Visit GetQuip.com/Kirkus to get your first Quip Toothbrushes refill pack FREE! Check out MeUndies.com/Kirkus for 15% off your first pair of underwear
01:05:00 8/13/2018

Past Episodes

This week's episode is brought to you by Scholastic. Megan and Clay ask comedian Guy Branum about his wickedly smart and funny memoir, MY LIFE AS A GODDESS: A MEMOIR THROUGH (UN)POPULAR CULTURE, including that time in college when he wrote an article about Chelsea Clinton and got a special visit from the Secret Service. And we catch up with Scholastic young adult writer Kody Keplinger, whose new novel, THAT'S NOT WHAT HAPPENED, is a timely page-turner with a fascinating premise: a school shooting survivor is determined to correct untrue stories about the tragic event. And our editors reveal which new books they think are really worth your time! Visit GetQuip.com/Kirkus to get your first Quip Toothbrushes refill pack FREE! Check out MeUndies.com/Kirkus for 15% off your first pair of underwear
01:04:00 8/6/2018
PARADOX is the 22nd mystery by bestseller Catherine Coulter starring detectives Sherlock and Savich but it's far from the 22nd novel Coulter's written during her career. She's also written numerous romance novels and co-writes a series of thrillers with J.T. Ellison. We talk to the pro this week about what it's like writing about the FBI, the writer who taught her well, and living in a politicized America. Our editors also join us to talk about their best bets for new books to read. Visit GetQuip.com/Kirkus to get your first Quip Toothbrushes refill pack FREE! Check out MeUndies.com/Kirkus for 15% off your first pair of underwear
00:55:00 7/30/2018
This week, we talk to the author of one of 2018's most unique books, THE DESERT AND THE SEA: 977 DAYS CAPTIVE ON THE SOMALI PIRATE COAST. Michael Scott Moore is a journalist who was curious why some Somalian men became pirates...and then he was kidnapped by them. Megan and Clay talk about some outrageously priced books and our editors reveal which new books are their best bets!  Visit GetQuip.com/Kirkus to get your first Quip Toothbrushes refill pack FREE! Check out MeUndies.com/Kirkus for 15% off your first pair of underwear
00:57:00 7/23/2018
In Megan Abbott's smart new thriller, GIVE ME YOUR HAND, Kit Owens, a rising star in a famous laboratory can track her success back to the one person in her life she'd like to forget. And that person doesn't want to leave Kit alone. "It will take more than a cold shower to still the blood thumping in your ears when you finish this," our reviewer writes in a starred review. Megan and Clay catch up with Megan on this week's episode. Jump over to MeUndies.com/KIRKUS for your TWENTY PERCENT OFF your first pair, FREE shipping and a ONE HUNDRED PERCENT Satisfaction Guarantee Visit GetQuip.com/Kirkus to get your first Quip Toothbrushes refill pack FREE!
00:55:00 7/17/2018
The protagonist of Ottessa Moshfegh's new novel, MY YEAR OF REST AND RELAXATION, doesn't just take some time off from her job; she spends a year hibernating with strong sedatives, in the hope that she'll emerge transformed. The novel is a nervy modern-day rebellion tale that isn't afraid to get dark or find humor in the darkness and we ask Moshfegh about writing it. Megan and Clay recommend some overlooked summer reading picks and our editors talk about their favorite reads this week.
00:51:00 7/10/2018
Angie Thomas' debut novel, THE HATE U GIVE, has spent an astounding 69 weeks on the New York Times young adult bestseller list and will be released as a movie this fall. In the novel, 16-year-old Starr Carter is a black girl and an expert at navigating the two worlds she exists in: her black neighborhood, and the other at her suburban, mostly white high school. Walking the line between the two becomes immensely harder when Starr is present at the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend by a white police officer. We caught up with Thomas recently and asked her about writing the novel. And our editors reveal which books are this week's best bets!
01:01:00 7/3/2018
This week, Megan and Clay ask David Sedaris about the snapping turtle he tried to feed his benign tumor to (the turtle's name was Granddaddy; the serious drift in his new collection of essays, CALYPSO; and what his siblings think about being written about so often by him. Have you ever wondered why your grade school English teacher insisted you stop ending a sentence with a preposition? We have the answer. And our editors reveal their favorite new books! 
00:50:00 6/26/2018
This week, we catch up with one of the bestselling YA writers publishing today - Cassandra Clare. She talks to us about her latest books, her upcoming series, and what it's like wanting to satisfy a lot of fans who have different ideas about what her characters should be doing. Megan and Clay speculate on the working method James Patterson and Bill Clinton used to co-write THE PRESIDENT IS MISSING and our editors reveal which new bestsellers are worth your time!
00:49:00 6/19/2018
This week, we're all about great summer reads. We talk to Jessica Knoll, whose debut, LUCKIEST GIRL ALIVE, was a major bestseller; her new thriller, THE FAVORITE SISTER, is an addictive thriller in which the set of a reality TV show gets a little too real and a star is murdered. But the novel is also a trenchant, deep dissection of contemporary feminism. And our editors join us to reveal their favorite summer reads!
00:57:00 6/11/2018
Rick Bragg has been telling stories about his family for decades now, including his bestselling books ALL OVER BUT THE SHOUTIN' and AVA'S MAN. His new book, THE BEST COOK IN THE WORLD, is about the "working-class mountain food" of his native Alabama and his mother, who does wonders with all kinds of Southern food. Megan and Clay talk about "trauma envy" among writers and our editors join us to talk about this week's bestellers.
00:56:00 6/5/2018

Shows You Might Like

Comments

You must be a premium member to leave a comment.

Copyright © 2018 PodcastOne.com. All Rights Reserved. | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy

Powered By Nox Solutions