Fully Booked with Kirkus Reviews

Get the ultimate insider's scoop on the best new books. The editors at Kirkus Reviews interview your favorite authors, tell you whether or not the books on the bestseller list are worth the read, give you behind-the-scenes insights, and introduce you to great books you may otherwise never find.

LATEST EPISODE

J. Courtney Sullivan and Ada Calhoun

This week, we catch up with bestselling novelist J. Courtney Sullivan,...This week, we catch up with bestselling novelist J. Courtney Sullivan, whose brand-new novel SAINTS FOR ALL OCCASIONS is an "expertly spun family drama," according to our critic, about two sisters whose dark family secret has consequences for years to come. And Ada Calhoun's new nonfiction book WEDDING TOASTS I'LL NEVER GIVE is an expanded version of the popular column on the same subject she wrote for the "Modern Love" column in the New York Times.

Looking for new bestsellers to read? Our editors tell you which to avoid and wish to read!
   Show More

55:00 5/23/2017

Past Episodes

Fully Booked now has a hotline number (888-245-0618) where readers can leave messages asking for advice about what they should read next, for example. We introduce calls from our listeners in this episode (and one of them is a real doozy).

What exactly does the Chief of Staff at the White House do? Your'e not certain? Neither were we until we talked to filmmaker and writer Chris Whipple about his deeply reported and fascinating new bestseller, THE GATEKEEPERS: HOW THE WHITE HOUSE CHIEFS OF STAFF DEFINE EVERY PRESIDENCY. We also chat up editor and novelist Rakesh Satyal, author of the funny, uplifting new novel NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME.

And our editors spill the beans on which bestsellers you should race out and read and which you can safely skip!
01:12:00 5/16/2017
Bestselling writer David Grann (THE LOST CITY OF Z) has another new book, KILLERS OF THE FLOWER MOON, that uncovers a crime (actually, a massacre) that most Americans know nothing about: the murders of Osage Indians in Oklahoma in the 1920's, just as the Osage were accumulating vast wealth from the vast oil reserves under their land. And guess who the perpetrators were? We're not saying in this interview with Grann, although he discloses some fascinating elements of the crime.

We also check in with Lisa Ko, whose hotly anticipated debut novel THE LEAVERS has already racked up a big award (from Barbara Kingsolver, no less!).

And Kirkus' editors give us the good news/bad news on which bestsellers to seek out and which to skip.
01:02:00 5/9/2017
If the first thing you think of when you think of Los Angeles is movie stars, palm trees, and traffic, there's nothing wrong with that. But what about all the great writers who call L.A. home?

In this special L.A. episode recorded during the recent Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, we talk with Hollywood Reporter features editor Stephen Galloway about his new bio of Sherry Lansing; comedian Carl Reiner; novelist Edan Lepucki; and bestselling YA writer Melissa de la Cruz. Join us on this all-things-L.A. episode!
01:08:00 5/2/2017
Mohsin Hamid, the bestselling author of the new novel EXIT WEST, calls in to the podcast to talk to us about writing characters who try to be decent people in an age of cynicism, while co-host Megan Labrise asks debut fiction writer Lesley Nneka Arimah about her story collection, WHAT IT MEANS WHEN A MAN FALLS FROM THE SKY. And our senior editors pipe up to tell you which bestselling books you should race out and read and which you might want to ignore.
01:04:00 4/25/2017
Dani Shapiro is one of America's most respected memoir writers; her latest, HOURGLASS, hits close to home (its about her marriage), so of course Fully Booked is there to get up close and personal with Shapiro.

We also talk to bestselling thriller writer Daniel Suarez, whose latest, CHANGE AGENT, may have you rethinking your plans for the future. And our senior editors pipe up about which of the most popular books you've been hearing about are actually worth your time!
01:01:00 4/18/2017
We talk to hilarious filmmaker and writer John Waters about a serious subject: how to create a life as an artist. And we ask children's book writer Anastasia Higginbotham why she titles her latest book TELL ME ABOUT SEX, GRANDMA. And Kirkus' editors give you the inside scoop on which bestsellers you ought run out and buy...and which you can safely ignore!
01:08:00 4/11/2017
In the debut episode, George Saunders, author of the bestselling novel LINCOLN IN THE BARDO, reveals what it was like getting inside President Lincoln's soul and we talk to YA writer Lamar Giles about his latest novel, OVERTURNED, and why he fights to ensure diverse characters, written by diverse writers, appear on bookstore shelves.

Wondering which new, bestselling books our expert book critics think are worth your time (and which ones you should avoid!)? Kirkus Reviews senior editors join us to tell you the what's what.
57:00 4/4/2017
"Fully Booked by Kirkus Reviews" premieres Tuesday, April 4, 2017.
45:00 3/29/2017

Shows You Might Like

Comments

You must be a premium member to leave a comment.

Copyright © 2017 PodcastOne.com. All Rights Reserved. | Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy

Powered By Nox Solutions